Managing Roles and Permissions

In Agiled, you have complete control over what your teammates and clients can see in their portal. 

There are two steps involved when you are managing roles and permissions in Agiled. 

  1. Portal Settings
  2. Role & Permissions

Using Portal Settings, you can manage what you want your teammates and clients to see in the their respective portals. You can even change the Admin side menu by turning the modules on or off if you don’t want to use them. 

Using powerful roles and permissions settings, you can control all the actions your employees/teammates can take inside the modules you have Turned ON for them. 

Portal Settings 

You can manage portal settings of Admin, Teammates, and Clients by going to Portal Settings  as you can see in the picture below. 

Admin Portal Settings

Lets say you don't want to manage tickets at this time. You can turn tickets off from the Admin Portal Settings as shown in the picture below. 

After you turn this switch off, your settings will be automatically updated. If you refresh the page now, Tickets module will disappear from the side navigation as shown in the picture below.

You can turn any module on and off here. 

Client Portal Settings

In Agiled, you may decide what you want your customers too see in the client portal. You can manage these settings by going to  Settings - Portal Settings

By default all the settings are turned on for the Client and the Client Portal looks like this. 

Let's say you don't want your clients to see Events, Items, and Chat, you can turn this off from the Client portal settings as shown in the picture below. 

After you turn these modules off, the Client Portal will look like this. 


You have complete control over the Portal settings and you can turn these modules on and off at any time. 

Teammate Portal

You can manage Teammate/ Employee Portal from the Settings - Portal Settings .

Team portal settings will apply to the Employee role and all the new Custom Roles you create. So, if you turn off a module in the Teammate portal settings, it will not be available in the Teammate and Custom Role Portals. 

Important: Teammate Portal Settings are applied to the Default Employee Role as well as to all Custom Roles. So if a setting is disabled in teammate portal settings, it will not show up in default employee/teammate portal or any custom role portal.

Here are the settings for the Teammate Portal. 

Let's say you want to turn off Clients, Leads, Events ,and Chat module for the Teammate portal. You can do so in the Teammate portal settings. 

Clients, Leads, Events, and Chat Modules will be turned off for the Teammate portal and it will look something like this. 

Roles & Permissions are inherited from the Teammate Portal Settings. So even if the teammate or a custom role has all the permissions for a module, but the Module is turned off in the Teammate Portal Settings, it won't be accessible to the teammate or the custom role ( More details on this are below). 

Roles and Permissions

In this section, you have a default role called "Employee". You can also create multiple custom roles. Each role has its own set of permissions that you can easily manage. 

The permissions for team members are inherited from the Teammate Portal Settings. It means that if you turn off a module the team mate portal settings, it will be turned off for all the roles regardless of their permissions for that module.

Here is a picture that can help you understand this hierarchy.

There are few exceptions involved. 

In case of Leads, Projects, Tasks, Attendance, Leaves, Holidays, Events, Tickets and Expenses, if the module is ON in portal settings, employees/teammates can access their own data like leads, projects, tasks, tickets assigned to them, their own expenses, attendance, leaves, upcoming holidays and events without any permission.

Its like by Turning On the module, you have already given them permission to view their own data. 

If in case, you want to give permission to View All Leads, Projects etc to some role, you can turn on the View Permission for leads, projects etc for that particular role and users under that role will be able to see all the leads, projects etc. 
For other cases, where there is no default data/access for users, like Invoices, Clients, Notices etc, you will have to Turn On the module in portal settings as well as give View Permissions to the role in order to enable users under that role to access the data.  

How to have different Portal Settings for each role?

You can manage portal setting for each role with the mix of Portal and Permissions settings. Let's take an example where you have 3 roles in a company, an Accountant, HR, and CTO. 

Lets say these are the permissions you want an Accountant to have.

  • Invoicing
  • Expenses
  • Payments

Let's say these are the permissions you want HR to have. 

  • Team
  • Attendance
  • Leaves
  • Timesheets

Let's say these are the permissions you want CTO to have

  • Projects
  • Tasks

Now let's create 3 Custom Roles and set Permissions for each of them . 

Create a New Role Accountant  and turn on permissions for Invoicing, Expenses and Payments as shown in the picture below.

Quick Note: All the Roles are inherited from the  Employee Role so it is strongly recommended that you keep all the default permissions off for the  Employee Role. If you turn on all the permissions for the Employee, custom roles will have access to all the permissions that are turned on in Employee Role.

Now let's set the permissions for HR Role. 

Click the Permissions button of the HR Role and select the permissions as shown in the picture below. 

Now let's setup permissions for the our final role which is CTO 

Quick Note: All three roles above will also have  Leads, Projects, Tasks, Attendance, Leaves, Holidays, Events, Tickets and Expenses options available in the menu as these are by default available for all roles and no permissions are required as long as they are ON in the Teammate Portal Settings. But HR and CTO will be able to access data related to all teammates as well as their own because we have set View Permissions. 

So this is how you setup roles and permissions in the Agiled. If you have any questions or face any issues, you can always contact us :). 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us